About David’s Beautiful Smile

May 2, 2014

The most beautiful tooth I’ve ever seen
was crooked. In his full-lipped mouth it
danced with his laugh, leaned on a bigger
adjacent tooth. He had thirty-two teeth
in that mouth, all of them but one 
straight as an arrow, white as the clouds in
a Simpson’s sky but I could only see the 
crooked one nestled near the center. It 
had secrets to tell me, gave me a smile
with the glow of a child and I leaned in, 
longed to hear all that it had to say. Kissed 
him on the mouth, rubbed my tongue 
along thirty two teeth tasted the secrets
of each but none were as sweet as his
crooked tooth.
Leave a Reply

