quitting the shit

April 21, 2014

When I’m by
myself
I’m in
bad company.

That’s what
she said and
it resonated
with me so that
I sent it as a
text
to my boyfriend.

He quit
the shit
for me.

I didn’t
quit
the shit yet.

That guilt
enormous as
a brick on my
chest
pushing
down until —

Well I tell him
of course.

Everything I do
is
controlled by fear.

Everything I do
is
controlled.

The
addiction
is
real.

But
he quit the shit
for me.

I confess to him.

He forgives
me.
Must be
in love with
me.

Everything I do proves
cowardly. But

I want to stop for him.

He quit the shit
for me.

Made it
into
my poetry.

Everything I do
I do
without caution

Except for the things
that are close
to his heart.

So
I confess and
he
supports me.

Quit the
shit
and must be
in love.

This is the
happiest
poem
I’ve ever written.

Got
the sweetness
of Sunday morning
tucked
in the
palm of my hand.

Leave a Reply

