a draft of a draft of a draft of my heart

September 5, 2013

the smell of a smell

and your smell

remind me of you.

 

it starts from the belly and blooms

is the name of my hangover

stolen from you.

 

I am a strong independent woman

I am a strong independent woman

I am a strong independent woman.

I remember we aren’t together
sometimes
when my phone doesn’t ring.
I don’t wear perfume for you but
the smell of your smoke mixed with
soap is nice and I understand
why you like perfume.
We spin in circles, what do you expect
from children of the earth,
that great big ball circling the sun
and we are just bound to it
and then there is gravity.
I learned when you broke my heart and then
I broke yours and then you broke mine
and here we are standing on our feet
planted to the dirt and we are spinning
in circles
that nothing good lasts.
My nose brought me to your chest.
Your smell, like a lazy spring day,
do they sell that in a bottle? I won’t
wear perfume but I would like to smell it
sometimes before bed and maybe in the
morning.
It is only natural to mix you up with
someone else. It is only natural to
spin in circles it is why I twirl on the grass
sometimes.
I smelled you today and my heart
fluttered. It’s only right to mix you up
with someone else.

 

Leave a Reply

