to the sea who throws punches

August 30, 2013

Oh Great Sea of Wonder

what have you got for me down there?

I swam in your arms for fifty days
and you did not bring me home to where

the mermaids live.

I took your punches, throw them harder!

My ribs have not yet been broken.

To the fish, oh the fish so full of broken promises

made by you only to be eaten by you

like an ant I march on and like an ant I have

given up my freedom — given it up to you

Oh Great Sea of Wonder
why will you not have me?

It’s true I once wished upon stars

but those are long dead and I wish now

to hear the hum of your belly, only the hum

and to sing into salt so that it doesn’t make
a noise.

I have grown out my hair for you!
I do not have feet anymore and my
lungs have been filled with water. Why

will you not stretch out your hands for me?
I only want to slip through the cracks
of your skin.

I only want to go home to where the
mermaids live.
Leave a Reply

